A Wonderful Weekend!

This Thursday I packed a duffel bag, hopped into my car, and headed home for the weekend.

But this wasn’t just any ol’ trip home – this weekend was my Mama’s birthday! (Happy Birthday, again, Mom!) – and I came home specifically to surprise her!

And boy was she surprised when I emerged from the living room with a bouquet of fresh flowers!*

IMG_7606

On her birthday morning (Friday, April 12th) we went out to our favorite breakfast place: Nick’s On Broadway. I had the best pancakes I’ve EVER tasted and my Mom ordered her usual of scrambled eggs and mixed veggies. Yum!

IMG_7641

IMG_7654
On Saturday evening we decided to indulge again and we headed to Boston to eat at Penang – the best Malaysian restaurant in America! (A slight exaggeration? Not really…) Penang is incredible. It’s drive-an-hour-out-to-Boston good. It’s eat-waaaaaaay-past-full good. The idea of eating there literally sends me into bouts of excitement! And, I mean, I broke my Pescetarianism just to eat there (whoops!) – so you know its delicious!

Anyway, our meal is pictured below:

IMG_7712

IMG_7728

IMG_7733

IMG_7737

IMG_7725

We relaxed for the rest of the weekend (minus when I had to go to the doctor’s office and get a shot – ouch!)

It was a great weekend home and just what I needed. While I may have procrastinated on my homework just a teeny, tiny, bit – I think that getting to spend time with my Mom and Stepdad was well-worth the stress-induced maniac homework completing spree that I just went on. ;-)

How was your weekend? x

* Pro Tip: Whole Foods Market is the best place to have a fresh bouquet arranged! They have a really great flower selection and if you ask the florist to make you a bouquet (make sure you tell him/her what the occasion is, how much you’re willing to spend, and a specific color and/or flower that you want in it) he/she will work his/her magic and make you a beautiful bouquet – guaranteed.

About Isabelle Edwards

Student Blogger at Union College.
This entry was posted in Food, Photography, Student Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.