“Ask Me Why I’m Fasting”!

Yesterday I participated in Union’s Fast-A-Thon!

The event was created/hosted by the Better Together Campaign on campus. The campaign’s mission is to “bring awareness to religious and non religious faiths on campus through community service, events, and gatherings”.

Thus, the Fast-A-Thon was created! The Fast-A-Thon was an event created to educate the campus as to why different faiths fast, as well as to create an awareness of the hunger and starvation which exists within our own communities.

Anyway, I participated in fasting from 5:30 PM on Monday until 7PM on Tuesday! It took a lot of self-control – but whenever I felt that I couldn’t take it any longer, I tried to remind myself of the many people within my community who feel that type of hunger every single day. And furthermore, because I was wearing my pin (pictured above), many people in the community really did ask me why I was fasting, and reiterating my reasons for fasting kept me motivated to fast the full 24 hours!

Although it was a struggle – I made it throughout the entire day and broke my fast with an apple-cider donut! (Yum!) – I wasn’t able to attend the Break-Fast (an event hosted afterward where everyone who had been fasting came together to eat his or her first meal in 24 hours and discuss different religions and their reasons to fast), but it was a great experience nonetheless.

I think I’ll definitely be joining in on other Fast-A-Thons in the future!

xo

About Isabelle Edwards

Student Blogger at Union College.
This entry was posted in Clubs, College Life, Food, Student Life, Union College, VSCOCAM and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Ask Me Why I’m Fasting”!

  1. leangains says:

    Hello there, I discovered your web site by the use of Google whilst searching for a comparable matter, your website came up, it appears to be like great. I have bookmarked to favourites|added to my bookmarks.

Comments are closed.