Comm-U-nication Is Key;

Any student who attends Union college will tell you that we get a lot of emails. I’m talking 2 or 3 on a good day, up to 7 or 8 on a day that is more hectic. And it’s all for a good cause. Our college wants to keep us in the loop and updated on every opportunity that is out there. There is definitely no way to miss key events or interesting things happening on campus.

But, the downside of course, is that students eventually become lazy, read the titles of the email, assume they get the gist of it, and delete it out of their inbox. Not really a bad thing….until it bites you in the butt.

During our club fair this year, I signed up for way too many clubs, and have only been able to attend one or two meetings due to crew interfering with all of the meeting times (sorry, but if your meetings are from 5 to 7 – which is usually the best time to have them – I’m not gonna make it.) Either way, this didn’t seem to be so bad. I just received a lot of emails about a lot of things that I essentially couldn’t take part in. So… I started doing that lazy thing. A club would email me, I knew I couldn’t make it, I’d delete the email out of my inbox. Easy.

Unfortunately, this backfired yesterday. One of the clubs that I had signed up for was the hosting club, in which you agree to be a host and have a prospective student stay with you for two days. I, of course, hadn’t been able to attend any of the meetings for this because of crew, and eventually started deleting the emails out of my inbox. I knew that we were preparing for a hosting weekend soon, but didn’t know when, and I assumed that since I hadn’t been to any of the meetings, Union wouldn’t want me as a host anyway.

Then, yesterday afternoon, when scanning through my inbox, I saw an email that caught my eye. Essentially it said, “Don’t forget to pick up the girl you’re hosting tomorrow afternoon!” ….. Wait….. WHAT?

Yeah, that’s right. Somewhere in those emails that I had been casually clearing from my inbox, I had been assigned to host someone, and since I didn’t object to it… they assumed that I could do it.

Of course after a few back and forth emails and text messages in which I totally panicked, since I have a midterm on Monday, had no idea I was hosting, and wasn’t even going to be on campus on Saturday, I got out of it.

But it really did teach me a lesson…. I need to check my emails! This goes for everyone. Even if you feel that the email has nothing to do with you, definitely open it up, scan the content, make sure you’re not missing anything, and then you can delete it from your inbox.

Without Comm-U-nication, things can go wrong… terribly wrong!

“Communication works for those who work at it.” John Powell

About Isabelle Edwards

Student Blogger at Union College.
This entry was posted in College Life, Student Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comm-U-nication Is Key;

  1. Angela says:

    Very funny, and very true :)

Comments are closed.